How did your county councillor vote in 2023 council tax setting? Click here to view

Declaring an Ecological Emergency and Supporting the Climate and Ecological Emergency Bill

Motion or resolution considered by Powys County Council

This motion was heard on 23/09/2021. It was proposed by Jake Berriman and seconded by Jackie Charlton .

Motion as voted upon

This Council therefore resolves to:

1. Declare an ecological emergency to demonstrate the Council's commitment to protecting Powys' natural environment, biodiversity and wildlife;

2. Declare its support for the Climate and Ecological Emergency (CEE) Bill;

3. Inform the local media of this decision, including sharing information on social media;

4. Write to our local Members of Parliament asking them to support the CEE Bill in its passage through Parliament; and

4. Write to the CEE Bill Alliance, the organisers of the campaign for the Bill expressing our support ([email protected]).

For - 24
Against - 31

Result: Not Passed
Vote Requirement: Simple Majority

  Voting Record

Below is the individual voting record for all councillors on this motion/resolution.

Name Ward Party Vote
Alexander, Myfanwy Banwy  Independent Group Against
Barnes, Mark Newtown Llanllwchaiarn West  Non-Aligned For
Baynham, Beverley Presteigne  Independent Group Against
Berriman, Jake Llandrindod North  Welsh Liberal Democrat Group For
Breeze, Graham Welshpool Llanerchyddol  Independent Group Against
Charlton, Jackie Llangattock and Llangynidr  Welsh Liberal Democrat Group For
Corfield, Linda Forden  Independent Group Against
Curry, Kelvyn Rhayader  Welsh Liberal Democrats For
Davies, Aled Llanrhaeadr-ym-Mochnant and Llansilin  Welsh Conservatives Group Against
Davies, Bryn Banwy, Llanfihangel and Llanwddyn  Plaid Cymru Group For
Davies, Dai Berriew  Independent Group Against
Davies, Phyl Blaen Hafren  Welsh Conservatives Against
Davies, Sandra Cwm-twrch  Welsh Labour Group Did not vote
Dorrance, Matthew Brecon West  Welsh Labour Group For
Durrant, Emily Llangors  Plaid Cymru Did not vote
Evans, David Nantmel  Independent Group Against
Evans, James Gwernyfed  Welsh Conservatives Did not vote
Fitzpatrick, Liam Talybont-on-Usk  New Powys Group Did not vote
George, Les Caersws  Welsh Conservatives Group Did not vote
Gibson-Watt, James Glasbury  Welsh Liberal Democrat Group For
Harris, Rosemarie Llangynidr  Independent Group Against
Hayes, Stephen Montgomery  Independent Group Did not vote
Hulme, Heulwen Rhiwcynon  Independent Group Against
Jenner, Amanda Trelystan and Trewern  Welsh Conservatives Group Did not vote
Jones, Arwel Llandysilio  Independent Group Did not vote
Jones, David Guilsfield  Independent Group Against
Jones, E. Michael Old Radnor  Independent Group Against
Jones, Emyr Llanfihangel  Independent Group Against
Jones, Joy Newtown East  Non-Affiliated Against
Jones, Michael J Churchstoke  Independent Group Against
Jones-Poston, Diane Llanbrynmair  Welsh Conservatives Against
Jump, Francesca Welshpool Gungrog  Welsh Liberal Democrats Did not vote
Laurie-Parry, Karen Bronllys  New Powys Group Against
Lewis, Hywel Llangunllo  Independent Group Against
Lewis, Karl Llandinam with Dolfor  Welsh Conservatives Group For
Lewis, Peter Llanfyllin  Welsh Conservatives Group Against
Mackenzie, Maureen Llanelwedd  Welsh Liberal Democrats Did not vote
McIntosh, Iain Yscir with Honddu Isaf and Llanddew  Welsh Conservatives Group Against
McNicholas, Susan Ynyscedwyn  Welsh Labour Group For
Meredith, David Brecon West  Welsh Labour Group For
Morgan, Gareth Llanidloes  Welsh Liberal Democrat Group For
Morris, John Crickhowell  Welsh Liberal Democrats For
Powell, Rachel Beguildy  Independent Group Against
Powell, William Talgarth  Welsh Liberal Democrat Group For
Price, David Llanafanfawr  Independent Group Did not vote
Pritchard, Phil Welshpool Castle  Independent Group Did not vote
Pugh, Gareth Dolforwyn  Welsh Conservatives Group Against
Pugh, Jeremy Builth  Independents for Powys Group Did not vote
Ratcliffe, Gareth Hay  Welsh Liberal Democrat Group For
Rijnenberg, Liz Brecon East  Welsh Labour Group For
Roberts, Lucy Llandrinio  Welsh Conservatives Group For
Roberts, Pete Llandrindod South  Welsh Liberal Democrat Group For
Roberts-Jones, Kath Kerry  Independent Group Against
Roderick, Edwin Maescar and Llywel  Independent Group Against
Rowlands, Daniel Newtown Llanllwchaiarn North  Welsh Conservatives Against
Selby, David Newtown Central and South  Welsh Liberal Democrat Group For
Silk, Kathryn Bwlch  Welsh Liberal Democrats For
Skilton, Les Newtown South  Action for Powys Group Did not vote
Thomas, David Tawe Uchaf  Welsh Labour Group For
Thomas, Gwynfor Llansantffraid  Welsh Conservatives Group Against
Van-Rees, Tim Llanwrtyd Wells  Independent Group Against
Vaughan, Elwyn Glantwymyn  Plaid Cymru Group Did not vote
Weale, Martin Llanbadarn Fawr  Action for Powys Group Did not vote
Wilkinson, Jonathan Llangyniew and Meifod  Welsh Conservatives Group Against
Williams, Ange Knighton with Beguildy  Independents for Powys Group Against
Williams, Gwilym Disserth and Trecoed  Action for Powys Group Did not vote
Williams, Huw Aber-craf and Ystradgynlais  Welsh Labour Group For
Williams, Jon Llandrindod East/Llandrindod West  Non-Aligned Did not vote
Williams, Michael Machynlleth  Independent Group For
Williams, Roger Felin-Fach  Welsh Liberal Democrats For
Williams, Sarah Aber-craf and Ystradgynlais  Welsh Labour Group For

Source: Voting Record